In Defence of Liberty

Driven by data; ridden with liberty.

Libelled Once More

A couple of weeks ago, I attended the annual general meeting of my local Conservative association. The meeting went quickly and efficiently, before a small group had a quiet drink in the pub. We thanked the staff for the drinks, and went to our various homes.

I thought this night was without incident, but a person on social media suggested that we were “an absolute disgrace”. When questioned, this person insulted me.

Libelled-Once-More.jpg

Here is the exchange with Steve Lloyd, who implicitly claimed to be at the King’s Arms on the same night:

SL: Her behaviour and that of her entourage in our local on Friday was an absolute disgrace!! She’s a fraud!!
AM: What in the world are you talking about?
SL: If you were there, you’ll know full well what I’m talking about. If you weren’t there, keep your nose out. And if you were there and still don’t know what I’m talking about, then there really is no hope!
AM: I was at the King’s Arms on Friday. I notice your answer managed to not elaborate on what the accusation is.
SL: Well noticed. Listen, don’t try your toffee nose games with me. You’ll come second. Every single time. You people are an absolute disgrace when in public. The way you speak to people is sickening. Any way, you’re a nobody. My comment was for Michelle Donelan MP not you.

I posted the screenshot, and made a response, as Mr Lloyd thought he could ‘win’ the exchange by blocking me on the social network. This will serve as a public notice on Mr Lloyd, for any other people who engage with this individual, or if he decides that he wishes to apologise.

Libelled-Once-More-Pyramid.jpg

I found this exchange quite enraging in multiple ways. Firstly, if you are making a public accusation, then you cannot ask others desiring to know more to “keep your nose out”. Secondly, I am meticulously polite in public, so it is annoying to be libelled that somehow my “behaviour” was “an absolute disgrace” and “sickening”. Thirdly, I grew up in quite a poor town, from modest means, so to have basic logic — the necessity of describing a public accusation — called “toffee nose games” was ludicrous.

Information

This entry was posted on March 29, 2016 by in Social Media and tagged , .
